CRLA logo

College Reading & Learning Association

Home | Conference | Membership | Search | Contact Us
ITTPC: International Tutor Training Program Certification




Benefits of ITTPC

Certification Requirements

Currently Certified Programs

(Frequently Asked Questions)

Program Info Update Form





Since March 1989, community college, college and university tutorial programs in the United States and Canada have received tutor training program certification through CRLA's International Tutor Training Program Certification (ITTPC). There are over 1100 programs which are currently certified through ITTPC, see them at

  • Originally named International Tutor Certification Program (ITCP). There was concern with the name that it might imply that CRLA was certifying tutors, so the name was changed to help clarify the purpose of CRLA's certifications--certifying programs. It was then called ITTPC: International Tutor Program Certification.
  • Another name change was requested as there was still much confusion as CRLA certifies tutor training programs not tutoring programs. The change was approved by a vote of the members in March 2011 and the name of the certification is now ITTPC: International Tutor Training Program Certification.
  • See the ITTPC History PowerPoint called ITTPC Beginnings.


The purpose of the ITTPC program is twofold. First, it provides recognition and positive reinforcement for tutors' successful work from an international organization, CRLA. Second, CRLA's tutor certification process sets an internationally accepted standard of skills and training for tutors.


CRLA's ITTPC has been endorsed by the Council of Learning Assistance and Developmental Education Associations (CLADEA), National Association for Developmental Education, and the Commission XVI of the American College Personnel Association.

In addition, other national organizations/programs who endorse CRLA's ITTPC program for Tutor Training include:

ITTPC Certification Levels:

  1. Certified Tutor
  2. Advanced Certified Tutor
  3. Master Certified Tutor

Each level requires that you complete the requirements of the previous level. An additional ten hours of training and 25 hours of experience are required at the new level.

Certifications and re-certifications: After submitting an initial New Application and meeting the certification requirements, it is valid for one year, a program submits a self-reflection Renewal Application for Certification which, once certified, is valid for three-years. Thereafter each program is required to apply for Re-certification, which is valid for five years at a time.

Note: CRLA certifies programs, not individual tutors. In other words, CRLA certifies that a particular tutor training program is qualified to issue CRLA certificates to individual tutors they train at their program's certification approved levels and dates.

College Reading & Learning Association
Tutor Training Program Certification information at
Questions to ITTPC Coordinator, Rick Sheets, Ed.D. at
Last update on: 20-Jul-2014

Proud Members of cas logo ( & CLADEA (
Council for the Advancement of Standards (CAS) in Higher Education
Council of Learning Assistance and Developmental Education Associations